Skip to main content

ABOUT US  |   ACADEMICS  |   ADMISSIONS  |   COSTS & FINANCIAL AID  |   STUDENT LIFE  |   GIVING  |   WORKFORCE SOLUTIONS  |   COMMUNITY EDUCATION | NEWS & EVENTS

Library Events: Home

Monthly Library Displays

Summer 2018 Display: 

Libraries Rock! 

McCracken County Public Library 

Summer Reading 

Summer 2018:

Let's Go on an Adventure!

Summer 2018 Display:

Summer Reading at Matheson Library

May 2018 Display:

Mental Health Awareness Month

April 2018 Display:

Bestselling Author Jeff Zenter 

April 2018 Display:

Celebrate Earth Day

April 2018 Display:

Distracted Driving

Spring 2018 Display:

One Book Read 10th Anniversary Celebration

March 2018 Display:

Pi Day 

March 2018 Display:

FYE 105 Career Resources

February 2018 Display:

Celebrate Black History Month

January 2018 Display:

Whodunit?

December 2017 Display:

Merry Christmas!

November 2017 Display:

Gobble up a Good Book!

October 2017 Display:

Fall into a Good Book

Banned Books 2017

September 2017 Display:

Hispanic Heritage

May/June/July 2017 Display:

Total Solar Eclipse

March 2017 Display:

Celebrating Kentucky female authors

February 2017 Display:

Celebrating Black History Month

Notable Women Scientists and Mathematicians

January 2017 Display:

See the best of 2016!

January 2017 Display:

New Year, New Beginnings.

December 2016 Display:

Jingle Books! December 3rd, 2016; Matheson Library Reading Room; 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.; Santa will be there! 

December 2016 Display:

Holiday cheer!

November 2016 Display:

Native American Heritage Month

November 2016 Display:

Study Abroad 

October 2016 Display:

Human Trafficking - What it is, and how we can stop it. 

Banned Books Week

September 2016 Display:

Studying Abroad

Summer 2016 Display:

Locally Grown!

Summer 2016 Display:

Exercising Your Mind & Body

April 2016 Display:

Poet - Tree Month

March 2016 Display:

Honoring Women in Public Service & Government

February 2016 Display:

Celebrating Black History Month

Stress Free Zone

Library Tweets

Upcoming Library Events

Coffee Mondays The Library offers free coffee on Mondays, 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. during the spring semester (Beginning Monday, 1/22/18)

Spring 2018 Events

 

​All events take place in the Library Reading Room, unless otherwise noted. 

April 

  • 4/11/18      11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.                                                                    Book Discussion: Goodbye Days, Amy Sullivan
  • 4/23/18      11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.                                                                    Jeff Zentner, Author of Goodbye Days and The Serpent King

 

   

Fall 2017
Digest Announcements: 

August 12
The Eclipse is coming!  The library will be providing fun crafts for kids of all ages! So while you are enjoying all the fun activities leading up to the big event, stop by the library booth and get your craft on!
Submitted by Christen Chapman

August 29
Jump for joy! Matheson Library has jump drives for students!

Forgot your jump drive? The library can help! We have several jump drives available to use while you are in the library at no charge. Just come to the circulation desk and ask one of our friendly staff members. We also have headphones with recording devices, a web cam, and calculators available for checkout, which come in handy for those math courses! (Submitted by Amy Sullivan)

August 31
Remembering 9/11
Matheson Library is pleased to host “They Were There” in the Library Reading Room, Wednesday, September 6th at 11 a.m.  WKCTC’s Brian Heller, who was in Washington D.C. on September 11, 2001, and John Lewter, who was in New York City on that day, will recount their experiences and help us pay tribute to the lives lost. Please join us for this free event. (Submitted by Carol Driver)

September 11
At Matheson Library we are excited that our FREE Coffee Mondays begin on Monday, September 11th from 8am till 12 noon (and on all Mondays for the rest of the semester). Stop by and have a cup! (Submitted by Anita Weathers)

September 12
Help determine the future direction of McCracken County Public Library!
McCracken County Public Library’s Director Susan Baier will be conducting open discussions to determine the future direction of their library.  Join them at the dates/times below to add your ideas and suggestions to the discussion.

Saturday, September 16, 10-11 a.m.
McCracken County Public Library Meeting Room

Monday, September 25, 6:30-7:30 p.m.
McCracken County Public Library Meeting Room

Monday, October 2, 6:30-7:30 p.m.
Dry Ground Brewing Company at the Coke Plant

Light refreshments will be served.

For additional information, contact Susan Baier:  SBAIER@MCLIB.NET
(Submitted by Carol Driver)

September 18
Tired of flipping pages when you read? Maybe a Kindle is for you.   
The Matheson Library has Kindles that can be checked out to WKCTC students, faculty, and staff for a loan period of 14 days.  Each Kindle contains the following eBooks:
The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
The Castrofax by Jenna Van Vleet
French Dictionary
Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance
Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
Little Princes by Conor Grennan
The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore
Oxford English Dictionary
Saints at the River by Ron Rash
Strong Inside by Andrew Maraniss
Strong Inside (Young Readers Edition) by Andrew Maraniss
Where am I Eating? By Kelsey Timmerman
Where am I Wearing? By Kelsey Timmerman
(Submitted by Christen Chapman)

September 19
As part of the college’s Hispanic Heritage Month, Matheson Library invites you to participate in a Calaveras coloring contest sponsored by the Food Network. The Calaveras is the Spanish word for skull. Copies of the Calaveras coloring sheets are available in Matheson Library, or you can go to www.FoodNetwork.com/colorthisdish  and download the image. Submit your entry to the Food Network by October 1st for a chance to win $500. (Submitted by Carol Driver)

September 25
Looking for a research topic related to Paducah? Figures who are well-known for their Paducah roots include Alben W. Barkley, Irvin S. Cobb, and John Scopes.  Others to research in the library’s many databases are:  Steven Curtis Chapman, Judge Bill Cunningham, Sam Champion, Julian Carroll, General Lloyd Tilghman, Callie Khouri, and Jeri Ryan. Matheson Library’s Special Collections area also offers an opportunity to learn more about Paducah and its history. (Submitted by Ken Bradshaw)

September 26
Banned Books Week is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read. Typically held during the last week of September, it highlights the value of free and open access to information.  Banned Books Week brings together the entire book community – librarians, booksellers, publishers, journalists, teachers, and readers of all types – in shared support of the freedom to seek and to express ideas, even those some consider unorthodox or unpopular.
For additional information go to the Matheson Library LibGuide (Library Guides/ Banned Books Week) at http://westkentucky.kctcs.libguides.com/c.php?g=235944 , come by Matheson Library to see the Banned Books display located in the Research Room, or watch the American Library Association’s Top Ten Challenged Books of 2016 video at the link below -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=7&v=O19TVmXWcyI
(Submitted by Carol Driver)

October 2
Did you know that wireless printing is available in Matheson Library?
You may print from your wireless devices in the library. The wireless printer is located in the library's Research Room, and directions are available there as well as the circulation desk upon request. Please inquire at the circulation desk if you have any questions. (Submitted by Andrew Burden) 

October 9
Enjoy free movies music, and books on Hoopla!
McCracken County Public Library has subscribed to a new digital media service called Hoopla. Hoopla allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. There are hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from, with more being added daily. It’s all free, with your MCLIB library card. Go to www.mclib.net and check it out – located under the Download tab. (Submitted by Jennifer Guilmain)

October 17
Get both sides of the story with Gale Opposing Viewpoints! 

Featuring viewpoints, statistics, academic journals, newspapers, images, audio, videos, magazines, reference sources, website, and maps, Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a great starting place for research.  To access the database, go to Matheson Library homepage at https://westkentucky.kctcs.edu/academics/library/index.aspx.  Click Find Resources, select Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context on the Databases A-Z list and then “Go” to Browse Issues or do a search on your topic.  It couldn’t be easier!  It will even cite the source for you.
(Submitted by Carol Driver) 

October 23
Let the Library Be Your Guide!
Are you overwhelmed not knowing where to start with your research on the library website? Library Guides can help! These guides are starting points for using library resources, and focus on a particular subject area or course. We currently have 40 guides spanning Applied Technologies to Theatre, and everything in between, including Business, Culinary Arts, Sonography, English, Nursing, Philosophy, and more. Visit the library home page (from the main WKCTC website, click Academics, then Library), and choose Library Guides from the left menu to see our full list of guides. Each has recommended books, journals, database, eBooks, and videos in that subject area. They are updated regularly with new materials. Begin with Library Guides, and let the Library guide you to helpful resources in your field. Contact the Library with any questions. (Submitted by Amy Sullivan)

October 31
Stressed out? Come to the library!
Stop by Matheson Library and check out our “Stress Free Zone.”  We have jigsaw puzzles to work and pictures and bookmarks to color! Adult coloring has been proven to reduce stress. So stop by and relax at the library! (Submitted by Anita Weathers) 

November 6
Mark Your Calendars for Jingle Books: It's a Charlie Brown Christmas! 
Make plans now to bring your children to Matheson Library’s Jingle Books, It’s a Charlie Brown Christmas, Saturday, December 2nd, 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.  Crafts, games, story time, breakfast, and of course, a visit from Santa and Mrs. Claus.  Open to the children of WKCTC students, faculty, and staff, including nieces, nephews, and grandchildren.  For more details, call Carol Driver at 270-534-3170 or email carol.driver@kctcs.edu (See attached flyer for details) (Submitted by Christen Chapman)

November 13
New titles from Matheson Library in health research
Health research can be valuable for your courses, but of course these issues also affect everyone. Here are several titles we have added to the library collection in the past weeks, along with their locations and call numbers: 
Concussions.  Stacks RC394.C7 M374 2017
Drug dealer, MD : How Doctors Were Duped, Patients Got Hooked, and Why It’s So Hard to Stop.   Stacks RM319 .L46 2016
Empty Arms : Hope and Support for Those who Have Suffered Miscarriage, Stillbirth, or Tubal Pregnancy.  Stacks RG648 .V743 1994
Health of Newcomers : Immigration, Health Policy, and the Case for Global SolidarityStacks RA427. I45 2017
Opioid EpidemicStacks RC568.O45 M37 2018
Physician-assisted Death : What Everyone Needs to Know.   Stacks R726 .S86 2017
Prescription Drug Abuse.  Stacks  RM146.5 .P74 2017
Ventilators Made EasyStacks RC735 .I5 W47 2017
(Submitted by Ken Bradshaw) 

November 20
​Check out ProQuest eBook Central today!
ProQuest eBook Central is a database offered by Matheson Library that contains over 150,000 eBooks (electronic books) spanning dozens of subject areas including business, education, religion, health & medicine, and science & technology. You might especially be interested in reading Where Am I Wearing?, a book being discussed this semester by Phi Theta Kappa students and Dr. Kevin Gericke. You may read any of the eBooks in the collection online for free. You will need to create your own account to download an eBook. You can access ProQuest eBook Central from the dropdown menu on Matheson Library’s Find Resources page, or by clicking here. (Submitted by Andrew Burden)

November 27
Library offering FREE hot chocolate and peppermints during finals week!
Finals are coming up the week of December 4. We know how stressful that can be, so join us in Matheson Library to de-stress and have some hot chocolate and peppermints every day that week. (See attached flyer).

ProQuest eBook Central Scheduled Maintenance Saturday, December 2
To maintain the currency and security of ProQuest eBook platforms, eBook Central will be unavailable for approximately 5 hours on Saturday, December 2, from 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. This is issued by ProQuest and is unfortunately out of our control. We apologize for any inconvenience. Please plan usage of this database over the weekend accordingly. (Submitted by Amy Sullivan)

December 4
Library Reminders for the end of the semester

A few end of the semester library reminders - please return all library books and movies by the final due date of Friday, December 8th. Students, faculty, and staff returning for Spring 2018 can check out or renew materials over the holidays, so contact us or stop by if you would like to do that. You can also donate any unwanted textbooks to Better World Books at the library or place in any of our book drops: downstairs MLRC, Allied Health, the student lounge at Anderson Technical Building, the second floor of Waller Hall, or the Student Center. (Submitted by Amy Sullivan)

December 11
Check out Something While You’re Home for the Holidays!
Matheson Library is open December 11 – 15, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.  Come by and check out some books to read or some movies to watch over the holidays! Students, if you are returning and registered for the Spring 2018 semester, you can check out items over the break.

Here are some of our top picks, many from our newest list of materials and some of our old favorites:

Books-

Sleeping Beauties - Stephen King
Late Show, The Black Box - Michael Connelly
Murder Games, 15th Affair - James Patterson
Still Alice, Love Anthony - Lisa Genova
The Lake House - Kate Morton
The Atlantis Gene - A. G. Riddle
A Charlie Brown Christmas – Charles Schulz
The Man Who Invented Christmas: How Charles Dicken’s A Christmas Carol Rescued His Career and Revived Our Holiday Spirits, by Les Standiford

Movies –
The Polar Express
Disney’s Moana
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
The Secret Life of Pets
The Boss Baby
Seven Signs: Music, Myth & The American South
It’s a Wonderful Life
Miracle on 34th Street
(Submitted by Carol Driver)